Who Touched Me?

Mark 5:26-34

A man pressed in on all sides by a desperate crowd stopped in his tracks, and his voice resonated even in the thickness of pushing and shoving bodies, “Who touched me?” he asked. His followers thought,”Really, I don’t believe he said that.” They mustered some courage and chided him, “How could you ask such a thing with all of these people swirling around all this time?” The man ignored them and fastened his eyes on a woman who approached him trembling and fell at his feet.

“Sir,”  she admitted, “It was I who touched you. I have had a hemorrhagic disorder for twelve years, and I’ve spent all I have going to doctors who could not cure me. I heard about you and pressed my way through. I believed that if I could only touch the border of your garment, I would be healed. Immediately, I did, the bleeding stopped!” The man looked with compassion on her and took note of her faith, and he said to her, ” Daughter, thy faith hath made thee whole; go in peace, and be whole of thy plague (Mark 5:34, KV).

The name of the man is Jesus. On that day that the woman touched the hem of his garment, virtue came out of his body. He was moved by the woman’s faith and not her need.  Many people had needs when Christ walked on earth, yet he did not change their situations. God will sometimes work without the activation of our faith, but there are times he harnesses his acts to our faith. Hebrews 11:6(KV) states, “But without faith it is impossible to please [God].”

Faith demands a response. Therefore, when you pray, seek God with all your heart and he will respond.

*Some Bible quotes have been amplified by author

Leave a Reply

